Tags

,


I enjoy the movie Castaway where Tom Hanks plays a FedEx executive that gets washed ashore a deserted island after a plane crash. After he is rescued and brought back to the U.S., he talks about the desolation and despair. But one day while he was stranded the tide washed up part of a Port-a-Potty, which he subsequently repurposed as a sail to his makeshift raft. He said that you have to hang on because you never know when the tide will bring you a sail.

I’m struck by a couple of things. First of all, life is what you make of it. I’d never have envisioned a plastic potty house as a life-saving tool, but it just goes to show, it’s all in your perspective.

Secondly, that Tom Hanks’ character was right. You never know what will be coming next that will completely turn the situation around.

My day started as a Porta Potty day — not the door, the contents.

But before long, some people stepped up to the plate to deal with some issues and my husband sent me a beautiful bouquet of red roses and stargazer lilies. And while I’m still in the shioup, I’ve got some people starting to paddle.

My thoughts in general have been going down that path. The fatigue and increased Sjogrens have really bothered me and, coupled with some mounting issues at the office, I wonder why I don’t quit this rat race and stay home and take better care of my health. But then things tend to get worked through and it’s a week later and I’m still here cashing that paycheck.

I think with RA in general, you have to hang in there. There is so much research going on and new discoveries every day that you have no idea when that piece of porta potty you’ve been dealt will be transformed into a sail.

Here’s hoping you’ve got clear sailing ahead. Thanks for checking in.

