Tags

,


This is just a catch-up on news and random thoughts.

Life is Not Fair

This is the 20th anniversary of the publishing of When Bad Things Happen to Good People by Harold S. Kushner.  If I were to nominate a poster child for that book, it would have to be Elizabeth Edwards. A teenage son killed, a faithless husband, a fatal disease. On one hand I want to raise my fist to the heaven and scream at the unfairness of it all. On the other hand, I should take a leaf out of Elizabeth Edwards’ book of life and understand that all of us are mortal and that none of us has a pass of immunity against the vagaries of this life. When we suffer bad things and ask, Why me?”, perhaps we should ask instead, “Why not me?”

Rest in peace, Elizabeth.

Thanks, Socks

I’d like to thank WarmSocks (http://warmsocks.wordpress.com/2010/12/06/medical-history/) for reminding us that the holidays are a terrific time to collect data on family health history. She has provided some excellent tools and suggestions for accomplishing this and, true to her fashion, related some humorous anecdotes about her experiences.

As the youngest child of two youngest children, I have a pretty big void in my life when it comes to family health history. I had little or no contact with my mother’s side of the family when I was growing up, and I lost what little contact I had when she died when I was a teenager. So I have no clue whatsoever about that side of the family except for information that my grandfather had diabetes.

On my father’s side, my grandparents as well as all my aunts and uncles have passed away — in addition to some of the members of my generation, so that information is lost to me as well.

The point is, start gathering the information now, then make it a holiday tradition to add to the list for future holidays.

Health Update

Per my last update, I had come down with a full case of the crud. I went to the doctor last Friday who diagnosed bronchitis, sinusitis, and congestion in my lung. He put me on Levaquin, supposedly a powerful (and very expensive) antibiotic. I didn’t feel much better as of yesterday when I finished the prescription so I went back in. Apparently the infection is clear (no lung congestion, etc.), but he believes that there is a certain amount of inflammation that is still causing me grief. He’s put me on a Prednisone taper and anti-histamines only as well as continuing my cough syrup as needed. I have to admit, I feel much better now, but then I always feel like SuperWoman when I’m on steroids. I’m hopeful that the Prednisone will help relieve some of my other aches and pains that have been going on as well.

The main concern is that I was afraid that the crud would keep me from having my [hopefully final] shoulder surgery next week (7 days and counting). My doctor feels confident that there shouldn’t be any issues, and that would be a good thing. There are no health reasons that are compelling me to have the surgery this year, but I’d like to get it done under this year’s deductible and out-of-pocket.

This is my third operation in 28 months. I have my fingers crossed to stay out of the surgical suite in 2011.

That’s all I know for now. Thanks for checking in.