Tags

, ,


So it’s been just over three weeks since I started on a daily dose of 10 mg of Arava. I’d posted earlier that I didn’t think I had yet noticed any difference. Then last week, something odd (miraculous) happened, and when it happened again this week, I’ve decided that the Arava is, indeed, working.

I take my Enbrel injection on Wednesday evenings. In the past it’s taken at least 24 hours for me to see any effects. So climbing the stairs to the my second-floor office on Thursday morning was still painful, and it wasn’t until Friday that I’d start feeling really good.

Last week, and again this week, Thursday morning after my Enbrel injection, I already had positive results. Last Thursday I’d gotten all the way to the top of the stairs before I realized it didn’t hurt. I thought it might be a fluke, but the same thing happened this morning. It’s like getting a whole day of life back every week. How cool is that? And my bursitis in my right hip is much, much better.  In addition, when I started taking Arava, I stopped taking the 3-4 doses of Tylenol a day (because of liver complications), and I really haven’t missed them the last week or so, so overall, I’m feeling less pain.

There are a couple of downsides. I’ve felt really tired and draggy since starting the drug, and my eyelashes are falling out. I haven’t noticed any copious or unusual hair loss, but my eyelashes (what there are of them) are definitely thinner. (I hope this is because it’s allergy season and my eyes have been very itchy and I’ve been rubbing them.)

All in all, getting a day back in my life is a good thing.

Hope whatever your day brings makes you smile.

Thanks for checking in.

