Tags

, ,


Like a lot of people, I’m not happy with my weight. Haven’t been for a while. Over the years I’ve tried different things with various degrees of success. Sometimes I’d lose the weight, but eventually after I quit paying attention, the weight would creep back.

However, after my recent “big” vacation, I’ve been making a concerted effort to not only lose the few pounds I put on, but get back to a healthier point on the scales. And one thing that I’ve always counted on is that I’ve been able to lose the weight when I really tried. Not this time. If anything, the scales have continued to creep up.

I was in recently for a series of doctors appointments and a couple of things have come to light.

First, my cholesterol and triglyceride levels are way above where they should be. Further, my fasting glucose is creeping up to the “pre-diabetic” area. With heart disease and diabetes on both sides of my family tree, this is not good. My thyroid is perfectly normal, so I can’t look to that area for relief.

The other thing that I learned that some people have a gene that “turns on” later in life that increases your resistance to insulin. This means that rather than metabolizing carbohydrates as you once did, your body stores them. So you can eat exactly what you’ve been eating, but gain weight because you’re storing the carbs instead of burning them. (Okay, this is a simplistic explanation, but you get the idea.)

The bottom line is, I’ve got to get serious and things that worked before aren’t necessarily going to work again.

Talking with the nurse at my gynecologist’s office, she referred me to Medi-Weightloss Clinic. Several of the nurses in the practice had been through the program with great success and were maintaining their weight loss.

I had been on a program similar to it in the past and had also lost weight. It definitely is not for everyone. It’s an extremely low-calorie, low-carbohydrate program with medical supervision. (It’s also pretty expensive.)

On the plus side, besides the weight loss, it’s definitely gluten-free, so I should also reap the joint-pain benefits from that.

My first consultation is next Wednesday. Between now and then, I’m going to start cutting out the carbs so it won’t be such a shock to my system. After that I’ll keep you updated on my progress.

If you’re interested in learning more about this from a personal experience, there’s an excellent blog that I found (which helped me make the decision to move forward with this decision). You can read it here.

I hope today’s scales tip in your favor. Thanks for checking in.

