Tags

, , , , , ,


Most of the time I like new things, but when it comes to RA, not so much.

I woke up Saturday morning (three days ago) with sausage fingers on both hands. They were swollen and stiff and it hurt to the point that I couldn’t make a fist with either hand. As the day wore on, the swelling and stiffness subsided and my hands were as back to normal as they ever are. Sunday was fine, but on Monday, the sausages were back. This morning, again, but not so bad.

Not sure what’s going on. I have OA in my distal finger joints due to years of typing, but really haven’t had a lot of issues in my hands from RA. This is new and I’m not happy about it.

My check up with my rheumatologist is tomorrow, so we have one more thing to talk about. I’m afraid that she may want to change me from Orencia (to what, I don’t know) or increase my Arava, but as I am scheduled for back surgery April 1, I only have another week or so on the meds before I have to discontinue them in preparation for surgery. It’s not going to do any good to start a new routine at this point.

In other news, tomorrow is also my second Euflexxa injection. I’m afraid that my previous euphoria over Euflexxa was a bit premature. The “it doesn’t hurt any more” only lasted until about noon on Thursday after the injection on Wednesday afternoon. In fact, over the weekend, my knee hurt as much or more than it ever has. I don’t know if there was some residual pain associated with the injection or what, but right now I can’t say that I have any positive improvement. Of course most people don’t experience any improvement until the second or third/final injection, so I was being a bit optimistic.

Then the following day is my myelogram. Can’t say that I’m looking forward to that. Having anything injected into your spine just seems wrong.

In still other news, we’re getting the house back in to shape. I have to say that the knee and back pain are not helpful to the lifting and bending and stretching required to unpack and reorganize a house, so it’s certainly going slower than I’d like it to, but we’re getting there. Answers to requests for pictures will be forthcoming, I promise.

I hope that whatever was on your breakfast plate (whether sausages or some other wonderful meal) was both healthy and filling. Thanks for checking in.

