Tags

, , , , , , ,


The title is shorthand for I just got back from two weeks in Washington, DC; I passed my five-year blogaversary, and I’m one day away from total knee replacement surgery.

Sorry that I’ve been off the grid for a while, but I have been in DC for business for the last two weeks. It was long hours at work and living in a hotel room. It wasn’t all bad, but it was being away from home for longer than I’d like. Also, dealing with baggage when I’m still not supposed to lift more than 15 pounds (because of my recent back surgery) caused some interesting logistical issues. But it all worked out. My husband was able to come over the Fourth of July weekend, which was great. Complicating the trip was the fact that I’m off my RA meds getting ready for surgery tomorrow. Between the job stress, ever-rainy weather, a different bed, restaurant food 3X a day, etc. etc., I was surprised that I didn’t have a major flare. But I’ve made it home safely and don’t know that I’ve ever been happier to be back from a trip.

While I was gone, I passed my five-year blogaversary. I hate that it passed in the blur of working 16 hour days, but it’s quite an accomplishment. I never thought I would be blogging this long. But life does keep on changing with RA so it seems like there’s always something to write about.

And one day to knee surgery. I’ve got a full day of things to do before surgery tomorrow. The medical equipment guy has been here and brought the continuous passive motion (CPM) machine and my ice system that I need to use after I get home. Sigh. I guess I ought to be happy that I have nice new toys to play with.

So that’s all I know. It seems like the last few weeks have been a blur. And the next few weeks will be on drugs. I do hope to chronicle the journey of the knee surgery on a regular basis. I know it’s helped me to read other peoples’ experiences with their surgeries and recovery.

Thanks for checking in.

