Tags

, , ,


I believe one of the greatest tools of fighting a chronic illness is the accessibility to the experiences of other people with the same condition. I know that I have been encouraged and enlightened by the many friends I’ve made in the blogging community. Beyond that, experiences recounted in books like Your Life with Rheumatoid Arthritis by the brilliant Lene Andersen, add a scope and depth to the mosaic of information on RA that is invaluable to other RA patients.

I’ve just come across another promising book, So Young – A Life Lived With Rheumatoid Arthritis, by Daniel Malito. Daniel contracted JRA at 9 years of age. Now 37, Daniel recounts his struggles and triumphs of living with the disease for more than a quarter of a century. Among other accomplishments, Daniel is a contributor to Creaky Joints, one of the outstanding arthritis organizations.

As it turns out, Daniel is from Garden City, New York on Long Island. I was born in Garden City, Kansas – a small city that’s in southwest Kansas, about one-half inch from the Colorado state line on most any map. My Garden City became (in)famous because of its proximity to Holcomb, Kansas, the home of the murdered Clutter family that was chronicled in Truman Capote’s book, In Cold Blood and further tied to that incident through the brilliant portrayal of the book’s author by the late Phillip Seymour Hoffman in the movie Capote. Other than my brother, I’ve never actually run across anyone else from any Garden City so it was quite serendipitous to find such an amazing book about JRA and someone (almost) from my home town.

I encourage you to take a look at the book and to give Daniel a shout out as well. (Link to his website: http://www.danielpmalito.com/.)

Thanks for checking in.