Tags

,

First, let me just say how much I enjoyed J. G. Chayko’s recent post on Outshining Broken Resolutions. She wisely points out that amidst the rubble of grand resolutions that somehow never quite get met there are numerous, wonderful successes throughout the year for which we should be proud.

Being an older, wiser person than I was when I made those sweeping resolutions, I only made one resolution for 2014. After having two major surgeries in 2013 (L2-L3 disk removal and spinal fusion and total left knee replacement), I resolved to stay out of the hospital in 2014. And unless something drastic happens today, I will be able to check that box.

I have no major resolutions for 2015. I told a friend that at some point in your life, keeping the status quo isn’t such a bad thing. Just not getting worse can be an accomplishment.

But my goal (if not my resolution) for 2015 is to be “better”.

I know this goes against all precepts for making your goals achievable. You’re supposed to be set specifics that you can track and monitor progress against, e.g., I’m going to do [X] for [Y number] of days a week. It seems like I always set myself up for failure when I do this.

I wasn’t bad in 2014. But I know I could eat better, exercise more, be more patient. Without setting a hard-line goal, I am going to endeavor to be more cognizant of my behavior. I want to make those good food choices off a menu rather than ordering the first thing that sounds yummy because I’m hungry. If it’s been more than a couple of days since I’ve gotten off my fanny, I’m going to get up and do something, even if it’s just a walk around the block. And while I generally try to be respectful and kind to those around me, I realize that sometimes the pain of RA and the effect of medications (like prednisone) can make me shorter to people than I intend. I want to remind myself of this fact and be aware of my words before they leave my mouth and potentially harm someone unintentionally.

There are other examples, but “better” seems to be the operative word for me in 2015, and I try to always keep my word.

I hope that your holiday season (however you do or don’t celebrate) has been joyous. Wishing that 2015 is better for all of us.

Thanks for checking in.

