Tags

,


Skin in the Game

I have a new dermatologist. It wasn’t really a choice. My previous dermatologist of many years passed away and the practice was sold. My records weren’t even in the system when I called to make my annual skin-check appointment. It was time for a change.

My PCP recommended a practice that has several physicians and is conveniently located to my gaggle of other doctors. Looking at their website, I was a bit hesitant because the doctors all looked young, blond and thin. This, I thought, is a group devoted to trophy wives and Botox. The Dallas area is consistently rated one of the most vain cities in the U.S.. beating out cities such as Las Vegas and Miami. (I know, right? You should live here.) Looking a bit closer, however, I noticed that one of the doctors specialized in people with rheumatoid arthritis and other inflammatory conditions. It took me more than two months to get the first new-patient appointment, but I had my initial appointment last week with very positive results.

We don’t often think about it, but skin is the body’s largest organ…

Read the rest of the article here: https://rheumatoidarthritis.net/living/skin-in-the-game/

