We’ve all had those seminal moments – instances where everything after that point changes. Maybe it was that moment when you knew you wanted to get married – or divorced. The birth of a child. The death of a loved one. Graduating from college with the overwhelming question of, “What next?”.

I think that for many people, being diagnosed with rheumatoid disease certainly qualifies for one of those life-altering events.

Many of those moments are the expected culmination of a series events (such as the birth of a child). Others, like the one I just had, are not.

I’m of the age where you start playing what-if games with retirement planning. A few years ago I had decided that I would retire at the end of 2013. As they say, if you want to make God laugh, make a plan. Thanks to the severe realities of having to provide for both health insurance and medical costs, here I am still working, full time.

But not for long. …

Read the rest of this post at www.rheumatoidarthritis.net: https://rheumatoidarthritis.net/living/seminal-moments/

