Fair warning: This is not about RA and it may have way too much information for a lot of people, so this is your chance to stop reading.

When I had the cyst aspiration earlier, I specifically asked the radiologist whether or not they had found anything besides the one large cyst and he assured me they had not. I questioned this at the timeĀ because the area I was feeling seemed larger than what they described, but took reassurance from his words.

After the aspiration, I could tell the large cyst had been addressed (plus I had watched it being aspirated on the sonogram), but the other area I was feeling was unchanged. I had hoped that everything was connected and that the aspiration would address everything.

As it was time for my annual “feet-in-the-stirrups” exam, I made an appointment with my gynecologist and asked him specifically to check the area. Sure enough, there is an almond-sized cyst still in place adjacent to several smaller ones. I have no idea why this wasn’t discovered/addressed initially, but we are where we are.

Sheesh.

So I had a very frank conversation with my doctor about the situation and whether or not to be worried about it and whether to go back for another exam and aspiration. Our combined decision is to hold off at this time. Given that the first cyst was simple and benign, there’s not a high probability that these will be any different. And with everything else I have going on in my life at the moment, I just don’t want to deal with it. I doubt that I will wait until next year’s mammogram is due, but as I have paid my deductibles for this year’s insurance will probably address it later when things calm down.

It’s always something, isn’t it?

I hope that whatever “something” is in your life is a happy occurrence. Thanks for checking in.

 

