Tags

, ,


I used to have a sign on my desk that said something along the lines of,

“I know you believe you understand what you think I said, but I’m not sure you’re aware that what you heard is not what I meant.”

Being a professional communicator for the majority of my career, I can tell you that it’s both about putting out the right message AND making sure that your audience hears and understands it. It’s amazing how a conversation between two people can be understood so completely differently by the people having the conversation. This happens between spouses, boss and employees, and certainly parents and teenagers.

IMHO, miscommunication is never more critical, however, than between doctor and patient. The amount of this miscommunication to me is astounding.

Earlier this week Pfizer issued a news release about the results of their latest findings through its global RA NarRAtive survey that assessed the quality of physician-patient communication and its relationship to RA disease management. The survey involved more than 1,700 rheumatologist in 15 countries and demonstrated disconnects between patients and physicians across multiple aspects of RA disease management.

What’s weird is that both physicians and patients agree that better communication means better disease management, yet significant gaps exist. I invite you to read the release and learn more about the RA NarRAtive via the links above, but here is an infographic that summarizes many of the important findings:

RA NarRAtive

