Tags

, ,


Quite a mouthful, huh? My left calf muscle is contracted which prevents my foot from flexing correctly which means I don’t walk correctly and also have pain in the calf and ankle.

You can read a more detailed discussion of the procedure here, but basically the surgeon makes small incisions in the Achilles tendon which then heals in a lengthened state. As part of the surgery, I’m having a platelet rich plasma (PRP) injection into the tendon. This kind of therapy has been shown to benefit healing in tendon injuries and repairs. They will spin down some of my blood, extract the platelets from it, mix them with some of my plasma and inject this into the tendon.

Then it’s a few weeks in a boot and six weeks of physical therapy and hopefully we’ll have solved another problem. 🙂

I’ve done the steroid injections, the physical therapy, wearing a split to sleep in at night, putting a lift in my shoe, stretching exercises and every other conservative treatment that might work with little to no result.

I’ve got about a month to get ready for the surgery which is scheduled close to the end of June. Of course, having RA, I have to coordinate my treatments and medications to make sure I don’t cause healing or infection issues.

There’s no way to really determine what causes this. It’s probably more related to wearing 3″ heels for decades than anything to do with RA. But RA certainly doesn’t make things easier.

I want to thank Kim for her detailed posts at http://si-instability.com/my-endoscopic-gastroc-soleus-recession-surgery/ which gave me some great first-person insights as to what to expect during surgery and recovery. Finding this kind of information written by patients helped me when I was first diagnosed and went through hip replacement surgery and inspired me to start this blog in the hope of paying it forward.

I hope whatever surprises your calendar holds are happy ones! Thanks for checking in.

