Tags

, ,


I got an interesting comment from Open Doctor on one of my posts concerning the recent restrictive guidelines for prescribing opioids. It was information on a website (http://www.opendoctor.io) that allows you to search for doctors, not only for pain but for a number of conditions. The possibly unique thing about this site is that it lists the doctor’s opioid prescription experience.

Let me just say that I am providing this information as just that — information. Other than taking a cursory test drive of the site, I know nothing about the site, how the doctors are listed or qualified or how accurate the information is. But in an effort to provide those that visit my blog with a wide range of information, I am happy to pass it along so you can add it to the mosaic of resources that you might find useful.

I found it a bit clunky to use, but I did eventually successfully come up with an extensive list of doctors (both MD’s and DO’s) in Dallas that included information on their opioid prescription experience. I would say that a number of these doctors were surgeons who appropriately prescribe pain medications for their post-surgery patients and who, therefore, might not be candidates for overall pain management. This was, no doubt, a result of the search terms I used and you could probably come up with a more defined list.

If someone were to ask my advice on finding a pain doctor, I would first recommend talking to your existing medical team for recommendations. Ask your PCP, your rheumatologist, and/or any orthopedic surgeons on your team.

As a second resource, many health insurance websites have a “find a doctor” function on their website. This is a great tool because you can be assured that the doctors are within your insurance network which can be important.

As a third resource you can use a simple internet search. I googled “Pain Doctors in Dallas” and got 754,00 hits. If you choose this more general route, I would suggest that you do some due diligence on the qualifications of the physician you choose.

The more I research the opioid situation the more I am amazed. It’s not only the opioid-related deaths, in 2012 there were more than 700,000 hospital stays related to opioid overuse in the US. That’s nearly 2000 hospital stays every single day.

The problem I have is that the statistics being used by health, legislative and law enforcement bodies lump the illicit opioids (including heroin and other opioids obtained without a prescription) with the legitimate pain management used by people who live with chronic pain. The guidelines I’ve seen that outline recommended non-prescription pain methods have a lot of merit. However, the people I know with chronic, debilitating pain have already tried all of those methods — exercise, meditation, acupuncture, etc. If they worked, they would happily use them. Unfortunately for many, the only thing that stands between them and a life of disabling misery is pain medication.

I applaud the efforts of recognizing that we need to take control of opioid abuse. But we cannot and should not implement those efforts at the expense of the most vulnerable in our midst — those that live in chronic pain.

Thanks for checking in.

