Tags

, , ,

I’ll admit to being terrified of needles growing up. I’d pass out getting blood drawn or (once) even getting an injection. Fast forward to today and being an RA patient. Not only do I get blood drawn once a month for lab work, I give myself a weekly injection and get regular infusions of a biologic medication.

The decision to use a biologic medication is significant and should be discussed with your doctor before you begin treatment, when you start the treatment and as you move forward. The decision of which treatment that’s right for you is also an important discussion. One of the things to consider is the delivery method. That is to say, are you more comfortable with an injection that you give yourself at home or an infusion administered at a medical facility? Doing your homework before having that discussion with your doctor will help you be prepared and better understand your options. There are some excellent online resources including an entire section dedicated to biologic treatments on JointDecisions.com.

Over the years, my journey with RA has included being on nearly all the biologic treatments, so I’ve had a lot of experience with both injections and infusions. The hardest part for me was getting over the fear of the injection or infusion and the actual experience has not been that bad (even for someone like me who has always disliked needles).

That being said, there are some things to consider for both injections and infusions, including the following:

Injections

Biologic injections that you (or a caregiver/loved one) do at home are a convenient alternative because you can determine an injection schedule that works for you. I used to do my injections in the evening. I seldom had any side effects from the medication but if, for example, I developed a mild headache, then I’d generally be in bed asleep for the night and it would be gone when I woke up.

Injectable biologics need to be stored and disposed of correctly. The medications need to be refrigerated which isn’t a problem when you’re at home, but is a consideration if you travel a lot and have to keep the medication cold while away. You should also dispose of the used syringes in a responsible manner. Regulations vary by location but I use a mail-order service that, for a small fee, disposes of my full containers and sends me a new one.

In my opinion, the two biggest considerations are the dosing schedules and syringe type.

The dosage schedules for injectable biologics vary. While the decision on which treatment is the right one for you should be the one with the best chance of success, if the injection schedule is going to be difficult for you, it is something you should discuss with your doctor as part of the overall treatment choice.

Injectable biologics generally come in a prefilled syringe or a prefilled automatic pen injector, and some medications are offered in both forms. Although some medications still come in a vial and syringe combination, the prefilled option is great because they can help eliminate any dosage errors.

The prefilled syringes I have used have all been slightly different, but they all generally resemble the syringes your doctor uses to give you injections. They have a needle on one end and a plunger on the other end with the medication in between. You insert the needle end into the injection site (usually the top of your thigh or your abdomen) and push with the plunger to inject the medication. The really nice thing about the syringes is that you can manage the injection speed to as slow or as fast as you need to be comfortable.

Automatic pen type injectors are, in my opinion, super easy to use. They generally look like a tube with a push button on one end. You press the end of the tube against your skin, push the button and about 10 to 15 seconds later, you’re done until next time. This type of syringe automatically injects the medication for you, eliminating the need to actually inject yourself with a needle, which can be difficult for some people.

Infusions

I had been on injectable medications for a while when my rheumatologist first changed me to an infusion treatment better suited for me.

I get my infusions at a designated room at my doctor’s office, but I’ve also had one at the hospital and I know people that go to special infusion centers that are set up for these kinds of procedures. The medication is delivered via an IV into your bloodstream. Depending on the medication, the infusion can be as quick as half an hour or may take several hours. However, the time between infusions is usually longer than it is than for injections.

The first time you have an IV (or for me, even the 10th or 12th time) can be scary. This is normal and any anxiety you have should fade over time. I personally have a great infusion nurse who makes it her goal to make me as comfortable as possible and the other infusion nurses I’ve met are very capable and very compassionate.

I occasionally get asked if I have a preference of injections or infusions. Both have their strong points. My personal preference would be NOT to have RA at all and to never have to consider one over the other. But since I do, I’m glad that there are advanced medications out there and that there are good options available to the doctor and to the patient.

I am especially glad there is such a strong community of RA patients and support organizations, such as Joint Decisions (http://www.jointdecisions.com). I feel that the more knowledge someone has, the more empowered they become to manage their condition and have a meaningful dialogue with their doctors. Groups such as Joint Decisions help provide the education and information that help make us better informed people and therefore better advocates for our own healthcare.

This post is sponsored by Joint Decisions, an educational initiative developed by Janssen Biotech, Inc. that empowers people living with RA to take a more active role in the management of their disease and have more open and honest conversations with their doctors. I was compensated by Janssen for my time spent collaborating on content for Joint Decisions.

