Tags

, ,


So I had the second esophagus procedure this week, and that went pretty well. Hopefully that will solve the problem although there is a chance that I may need some additional testing, but not for a few weeks. Fingers crossed.

That’s the good news. The bad news is that the doctor discovered that what we thought was acid reflux is actually bile. So instead of taking one additional pill first thing in the morning, I have to take a huge tablet four times a day — 28 times a week. And I can’t take them with other pills or with food, so I’ve got this 4X a day thing that is completely offsync from anything else I do.

I counted the pills I take and it comes up to 30 pills per day which breaks into 20 prescription pills and 10 supplements. (Some of these are a single medication that I take multiple times per day.) That’s 210 pills per week or almost 11,000 pills every year. That’s not taking into account if I need Tylenol or other pain medication or Claritin for allergies, or anything else. In addition, I have a daily injection, a weekly injection, and an infusion every six weeks. Sheesh.

In other news, my knee has been bothering me since we came back from Havana. I wound up walking up (and down) three steep flights of stairs. Since that time, my knee has been getting more and more sensitive to pressure to the point that I actually nearly stopped walking. I was down to walking/limping the minimum 30 minutes a day then having to stop and rest/ice when I was done. Not a happy girl.

Last Friday I had an appointment with my orthopedic surgeon, since this is the replaced knee. Everything looked good on the Xrays. Where I indicated it was painful is on the bottom part of the knee where a tendon inserts into the knee joint and, assuming horses instead of zebras, my doctor did a steroid injection in my knee right there, just below the actual joint. Which is a good thing because you really can’t/shouldn’t inject into a replaced joint.

By the next day, Saturday, things had actually improved.

But then I did my personal impression of falling and not being able to get up. Directly on the knee.

We were at the movies and I had gone to the ladies room. On the way back I somehow tripped on the part of the floor that turns and starts to incline up into the theater, smacking my full (over)weight directly on the replaced knee joint. I couldn’t stand, I couldn’t breathe, it hurt so bad I couldn’t even cry. Of course it was a very loud movie and I didn’t think anyone could hear me, so I crawled/dragged myself along the floor until I got far enough into the movie theater that I got someone’s attention who went to find my husband and theater management.

Long story short, I found out that titanium is harder than flesh and bone (good thing). We went to the ER and, after Xrays and a couple of hours, they determined that the artificial joint was still firmly attached and none of the naturally occurring parts had been broken.

By the time we got home, I was able to put enough weight on it that I could get around with my walker and by the next morning I was walking without assistance, although with a limp. A week later it’s still very sore. I must say, however, that I don’t think I’ve ever had a more colorful bruise — even when I had the knee replaced originally. I was going to post a picture but it is still a bit too colorful for good taste. But it definitely has red, white, blue, green and purple hues.

The next couple of weeks are going to be busy with travel so I may be offline for a bit. In the meantime, I wish you the best health and happiness, and I thank you for checking in.

