Tags

, , ,


OMG. I just found Autoject 2 and I think my life has been changed.

All of us develop preferences for certain treatment options. Some people like infusions while others like the convenience of home injection. I’ve always been an auto-injector kind of girl, but I have friends that like the control that a traditional syringe gives them.

The first injection I ever gave myself was a blood thinner I had to inject daily for two weeks after my hip replacement surgery. I could barely feel the injection, but it was a standard syringe and I hated, hated, hated actually sticking the needle into my skin.

I’ve been on an off various treatments and while I prefer no needles at all, if I have to do an injection, I prefer the simple click of a button of an auto-injector. (Because I still hate sticking that needle in my skin.)

I’m now on a biologic and injected methotrexate and the MTX I use comes in a vial and I use a standard syringe. I’ve come to dread Sundays which is MTX day at my house. Then earlier this week, I learned about the Autoject 2. You basically take your standard syringe (filled with the appropriate medication), place it in the device and it works like an auto-injector. Zip. Injection is done with no pain and no drama. I started to do a video but here’s already a pretty good YouTube video showing how it works here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fndalvwKF4s.

Apparently a lot of people use this for shots they give their kids and pets because it’s easier. I certainly found it easy to use and highly recommend it for anyone who struggles with traditional injections.

A couple of notes because finding detailed information on the product is a bit difficult. First, the Autoject 2 works with syringes that are 1 ml. or less — which works great with insulin and a lot of MTX dosages. I think there is a larger one for bigger syringes. Second, you have to be a bit careful. The auto-inject pens that I’ve used that come prefilled from pharmaceutical companies have a safety measure where the needle is retracted or covered after the injection is complete. That is not the case with this device. The tip of the needle still extends out until you remove the entire syringe.

I got mine through Amazon for about $33. It was essentially the same price I saw on Walmart and a couple of other mail order sites. Even though I only use it once a week, I definitely think it’s worth it and would certainly think so if I had to do an injection more often.

So, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it. (Get it? “Sticking” to it????)

Doing my happy dance now that I don’t have dread my MTX injection. I hope whatever you’re dreading (and we all dread something) turns out to have an easy solution as well. Thanks for checking in.

